Shot through with beauty and love

“The world is not respectable; it is mortal, tormented, confused, deluded forever; but it is shot through with beauty, with love, with glints of courage and laughter; and in these, the spirit blooms timidly, and struggles to the light amid the thorns.” – George Santayana

Shot through with beauty and love.

My friend Nan sent me this quote, along with her donation this week.  And it’s the perfect way to describe what is happening right now.  Yes, I still have breast cancer. Yes, I still need the treatment.  Yes, I’m still in pain, and the worry is even worse than the pain… But putting myself out there for all the world to see has brought me so many blessings this week that I cannot even count them.  Over 65 people have donated to my medical expenses fund, for a grand total of $9031, which is nearly one third of the total I need for the treatment in April at the Cancer Hope Center in Reno.

I never imagined that there would be this much support, but I knew I had to try.  What’s been equally amazing is the notes of support and tributes that I have been getting.  Every time I open my computer, there are more missiles of love and hope than I can absorb.  It’s truly wonderful.  I’m taking some of them and starting a new section of my website called “Tributes & Inspiration” so you all can share them too.  What an ego boost!

The other thing that’s happening is that friends from all over are starting their own fundraising efforts and coming up with other creative ways to help:

– Bari, in Rhode Island, is raffling off a weekend at her 1760 home in Newport, among other goodies: http://web.me.com/bari205/Site/Raffles_for_Meg.html

– David in California, a brilliant photographer, is raffling off an original signed print: http://elizabethavedon.blogspot.com/2010/03/david-maisel-lake-project-38-fundraiser.html

– Candice, who runs a cleaning service here in Astoria, Oregon is organizing a car wash with local high school students!

Other friends have sent gift certificates to Whole Foods, a juicer, and are shaking the bushes for free housing in Reno.

Wow.  As my friend Anni wrote (with a nod to Shakespeare):”Your army is recruiting – signal fires are being lit across the land!  The flames leap from mountaintop to mountaintop, sending out the call for aid.  We’ve got your back, grrrrrrrrrrrl.”

So, I am galvanized.  Thank you ALL for your love and support.

More news to come… keep your dial tuned here.

p.s. I almost forgot to say.  The GiveForward website founder contacted me to let me know that my fundraiser is now one of the “featured fundraisers” on the site! Whoo hoo“The world is not respectable; it is mortal, tormented, confused, deluded forever; but it is shot through with beauty, with love, with glints of courage and laughter; and in these, the spirit blooms timidly, and struggles to the light amid the thorns.” – George Santayana


Leave a Reply

